Formula E reveals updated Season 9 calendar

As Maserati MSG Racing prepares for its new dawn, the FIA ABB Formula E World Championship has today revealed an updated version of its 2022/23 calendar.

In Season 9, Maserati, in partnership with the Monaco Sports Group, will return to top-tier single seater competition for the first time in 60 years to defy, disrupt and redefine motorsport’s most competitive platform.

This journey will begin on 14 January 2023, with one race at Mexico City’s Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez before continuing with a double-header event on 27-28 January in the UNESCO World Heritage Site in Diriyah, Saudi Arabia.

On 11 and 25 February, Formula E will break ground at two new locations in Hyderabad, India, and Cape Town, South Africa, and will hold the inaugural Sao Paulo E-Prix on 25 March in Brazil.

The Berlin E-Prix on 22-23 April precedes the iconic Monaco E-Prix on 6 May. An additional race will be held on 20 May, which is yet to be confirmed.

Formula E will return to Jakarta with a double-header event in the Indonesian capital on 3-4 June, with 24 June marking another race which is still to be announced.

July’s Rome double headed E-Prix weekend marks the penultimate race event of the season with the World Championship due to conclude with a final double headed race weekend on 29-30 July in London.

James Rossiter, Team Principal, Maserati MSG Racing

“With new races in Hyderabad, Cape Town and São Paulo, alongside familiar favourites such as Mexico City, Monaco, and London, Season 9 is shaping up to be Formula E’s most diverse calendar yet. As a team, obviously Monaco is always a highlight of the calendar for us and, with Maserati’s home race in Rome, we now have two home race weekends to look forward to. As always we will be showcasing some iconic cities around the world and with the additional race locations on the calendar, we’re looking forward to bringing Formula E’s unique racing action to an even wider audience than previously.”

Giovanni Tommaso Sgro, Head Of Maserati Corse

“It’s exciting to see the extended global line up to Season 9 of the FIA ABB Formula E World Championship. As Maserati heads back to racing we’re looking forward to competing in this innovative platform as it expands into additional cities around the world. Rome will be our home race and we’re so proud to be the first Italian brand to enter this electrifying series.”

Amended 2022/23 FIA Formula E World Championship Calendar 

1.    Mexico City E-Prix / Mexico / 14 January 2023

2.    Diriyah E-Prix / Saudi Arabia / 27 January 2023

3.    Diriyah E-Prix / Saudi Arabia / 28 January 2023

4.    Hyderabad E-Prix / India / 11 February 2023

5.    Cape Town E-Prix / South Africa / 25 February 2023

6.    São Paulo E-Prix / Brazil / 25 March 2023

7.    Berlin E-Prix / Germany / 22 April 2023

8.    Berlin E-Prix / Germany / 23 April 2023

9.    Monaco E-Prix / Monaco / 6 May 2023

10.  TBC / TBC / 20 May 2023

11.  Jakarta E-Prix / Indonesia / 3 June 2023

12.  Jakarta E-Prix / Indonesia / 4 June 2023

13.  TBC / TBC / 24 June 2023

14.  Rome E-Prix / Italy / 15 July 2023

15.  Rome E-Prix / Italy / 16 July 2023

16.  London E-Prix / United Kingdom / 29 July 2023

17. London E-Prix / United Kingdom / 30 July 2023